2016-03-23, 06:37

Spanish colonization*began with the arrival of*Miguel López de Legazpi's expedition on February 13, 1565 from Mexico. He established the first permanent settlement in*Cebu.[7]Much of the archipelago came under Spanish rule, creating the first unified political structure known as thePhilippines. Spanish colonial rule saw the introduction of Christianity, the*code of law*and the oldest modern university in Asia. The Philippines was ruled under the Mexico-based*Viceroyalty of New Spain*until Mexican independence. After which, the colony was directly governed by*Spain.

Spanish rule ended in 1898 with Spain's defeat in theSpanish–American War. The Philippines then became a colony of the*United States.

Det visste jag inte. Jag lär mig nått nytt varje dag på Flashback. Tack för det.